Conductor Directing

Kenneth Freed, Music Director

follow us: Mailing List Sign Up YouTube instagram

Music on the Hill "Mill City String Quartet"

Sunday, April 15, 2018 - 2:00pm
170 Good Counsel Drive
Music on the Hill
Erwin Schulhoff
Five Pieces for String Quartet
Johann Sebastian Bach
Selections from The Art of the Fugue
Bela Bartok
String Quartet No. 2


interested button

 Buy tickets


The concert opens with Five Pieces for String Quaret by Czech composer Erwin Schulhoff. Written in 1925 and dedicated to Darius Milhaud, the work draws from the styles of Baroque dance and the Second Viennese School. The pieces are: Viennese Waltz, Serenade, Czech Folk Music, Tango, and Tarantella. The program continues with The Art of the Fugue. This piece was written towards the end of Bach's life and was a culmination of his experimentation with monothematic instrumental works. It is an incomplete work and there is no specified instrumentation. The piece has been performed by many different instruments including harpsichord, piano, and organ, as well as by full orchestras and string quartets. The concert concludes with String Quartet No. 2, written between 1915 and 1917 by Bela Bartok in Hungary. 

The Mill City String Quartet, based in the Twin Cities, began in 2007. Since then, they have traveled around the state and the country performing for all types of audiences. They frequently collaborate with Kantorei and work with students across Central and Southern Minnesota. They were chosen as Artist-in-Residence through Minnesota Public Radio's Class Notes program, and also have been able to tour and perform for rural communities in Southern Minnesota thanks to a grant from the Mankato Symphony and the Prairie Lakes Regional Arts Council. 

Preview the Music